Familia Delphinidae

Family Delphinidae - Ocean Dolphins (32 species in 17 genera)

The family Delphinidae has been called a “taxonomic trash basket,” because many small to medium-sized odontocetes of various forms have been lumped together in this group for centuries. Consequently, the so-called delphinids are diverse in form. They range in size from the 1 to 1.8 m dolphins of the genera Sotalia and Cephalorhynchus to the killer whale, in which males can reach lengths of at least 9.8 m. However, most delphinids share the following characteristics: a marine habitat, a noticeable beak, conical teeth, and a large falcate dorsal fin set near the middle of the back. There are exceptions to every one of these rules, except the presence of basically conical teeth.


Genus Cephalorhynchus containing 4 species:
Cephalorhynchus commersonii (Commerson's dolphin)
Cephalorhynchus eutropia (Black dolphin)
Cephalorhynchus heavisidii (Heaviside's dolphin)
Cephalorhynchus hectori (Hector's dolphin)

Genus Delphinus containing 2 species:
Delphinus capensis (Long-beaked common dolphin)
Delphinus delphis (Short-beaked common dolphin)

Genus Feresa containing 1 species:
Feresa attenuata (Pygmy killer whale)

Genus Globicephala containing 2 species:
Globicephala macrorhynchus (Short-finned pilot whale)
Globicephala melas (Long-finned pilot whale)

Genus Grampus containing 1 species:
Grampus griseus (Risso's dolphin)

Genus Lagenodelphis containing 1 species:
Lagenodelphis hosei (Fraser's dolphin)

Genus Lagenorhynchus containing 6 species:
Lagenorhynchus acutus (Atlantic white-sided dolphin)
Lagenorhynchus albirostris (White-beaked dolphin)
Lagenorhynchus australis (Peale's dolphin)
Lagenorhynchus cruciger (Hourglass dolphin)
Lagenorhynchus obliquidens (Pacific white-sided dolphin)
Lagenorhynchus obscurus (Dusky dolphin)

Genus Lissodelphis containing 2 species:
Lissodelphis borealis (Northern right whale dolphin)
Lissodelphis peronii (Southern right whale dolphin)

Genus Orcaella containing 1 species:
Orcaella brevirostris (Irrawaddy dolphin)

Genus Orcinus containing 1 species:
Orcinus orca (Killer whale)

Genus Peponocephala containing 1 species:
Peponocephala electra (Melon-headed whale)

Genus Pseudorca containing 1 species:
Pseudorca crassidens (False killer whale)

Genus Sotalia containing 1 species:
Sotalia fluviatilis (Tucuxi)

Genus Sousa containing 2 species:
Sousa chinensis (Indo-Pacific hump-backed dolphin)
Sousa teuszii ( Atlantic hump-backed dolphin)

Genus Stenella containing 5 species:
Stenella attenuata (Pantropical spotted dolphin)
Stenella clymene (Clymene dolphin)
Stenella coeruleoalba (Striped dolphin)
Stenella frontalis (Atlantic spotted dolphin)
Stenella longirostris (Spinner dolphin)

Genus Steno containing 1 species:
Steno bredanensis (Rough-toothed dolphin)

Genus Tursiops containing 1 species:
Tursiops truncatus (Bottlenose dolphin)